The Fix is in

It finally arrived. My little surprise package of Stitch Fix goodies arrived on my doorstep last week. I was super excited to open it up and see what my stylist had selected for me. If you’re not familiar with Stitch Fix, click here to read my earlier blog about this nifty subscription wardrobe service.

I tried hard to keep my expectations low, since my stylist – Taryn – doesn’t really know me yet. I told myself to keep an open mind and be willing to try new things.

I received four pieces of clothing and one necklace. Here’s the lowdown on each piece:

  • Kut from the Kloth black shift dress – I asked my stylist for something a little dressy, that would be appropriate for an anniversary dinner and could transition into the holidays. This black dress with lace on the shoulders is loose fitting, which I’m not used to, but is really pretty, classic and totally versatile. It was $98, a little pricier than I was hoping, but after modelling it for the fam, I decided it was a keeper. (Wow…sorry about the messy closet!)

    Kut from the Kloth Antonella dress, $98
    Kut from the Kloth Antonella dress, $98
  • Annetta metal lace necklace – I have to say I LOVE this piece. It really is a great accessory to the plain black dress. It is definitely something I would never have picked out on my own. I am excited to wear it with a number of different things. It is priced at $34.
    IMG_0991
  • 41Hawthorne Potina Draped Cardigan – this sweater was really cute. The stripes on the inside were very unexpected and playful. It was great quality – you could tell just by the feel. It was priced at $68 and because it was a little too big, I decided to return it.IMG_0695
  • Mavi Skinny Jean – putting these jeans on, they felt like butter. Honestly, SO comfortable…they had just the right amount of stretch. However, after wearing them around the house for a bit, I could tell they were going to become that annoying pair of jeans that you’re forever pulling up. They were $98, and I just couldn’t justify spending that on a pair of jeans that just didn’t fit perfectly.IMG_0689
  • Alice Blue floral print blouse – pictured above – was super sweet. I hesitated on flowers for fall, but because it’s black and is a great layering piece, I decided to keep it. I am a sucker for florals!! I love the cute V-shaped neckline and it can be worn loosely tucked in or out. Great casual piece that can be dressed up or down. It is priced at $44.

So, in the end, I kept three out of five pieces, which means I didn’t qualify for the 25% off my entire order. But my $20 styling fee was deducted from my total purchase. With the discount, I paid $167.44.

I have to say that I was impressed with Fix #1. Taryn did a really great job at picking things out for me. I actually really liked everything she sent, and the returns were mostly for size. I think we’re on to something!

Something else I really like about Stitch Fix is the styling cards you receive with your clothes The cards give you ideas on how to style your new pieces, to dress them up or down. It is really helpful, especially for those who don’t know what goes with what.

IMG_0668

I will continue with Stitch Fix up until the holidays, and then maybe take a break after that. I like the idea of using the service 4 times a year when the season changes. All in all, I’d say I’m hooked!

P.S. I’m working on my closet!!

IMG_0720

4 thoughts on “The Fix is in

  1. For Canadian shoppers, this is from Erin at Sitch Fix:

    “We are continuing to grow and scale to meet the demand of our clients in the US and while we hear a lot from folks in Canada about their excitement about Stitch Fix, we do not have immediate plans to expand internationally at this time. Anyone can always reach our customer experience team at hello@stitchfix.com.”

Leave a Reply

