Ok Moms, I’m ready for a fashion “fix”

I finally did it! After chatting with a friend about how much she enjoys the subscription wardrobe service Stitch Fix, I decided I needed to give it a try.

I think this may just be the thing many busy moms are looking for – the desire to ditch the yoga pants, look cute and stylish and never have to leave your own home! It’s been a while, but I do remember what it was like to shop with babies and toddlers. 😉

Stitch Fix is a San Fransisco-based company which has been gaining popularity in the U.S. but, sadly, is not available yet in Canada.

Courtesy: Stitch Fix
Courtesy: Stitch Fix

With cooler weather just around the corner (I hope), I am excited to pull out jeans, sweaters, boots and scarves. Fall seems like a great time to give my wardrobe a little “fixing” up.

All of my friends know I love to shop…I’ve even been known to lose a toenail in the process of hunting down some good deals. So, I’m not sure if Stitch Fix will be a hit or a miss for me.

Here’s how it works:

For $20 a month, an online stylist will hand select 5 pieces of clothing for you based on the Stitch Fix profile you fill out. (Take your time, this is very important – give yourself 20 minutes). You let them know your sizes, preferred colors, and your overall style whether it be casual chic, preppy, Bohemian chic, classic, romantic or edgy. (They provide pictures of each style, so it’s easy to figure this part out)

For each Fix you can specify the colors and type of clothing you are looking for and if you are planning to wear them to an upcoming party or special occasion. You can choose whether to receive just clothes, or also add in accessories, coats and purses. Stitch Fix encourages you to join Pinterest and create a board of all the looks you love and also make that part of your profile. The more your stylist gets to know what you like, the better your Fixes should be. And, you can schedule your shipment to arrive whenever you like – you may choose to do it monthly, quarterly, etc.

I really don’t think Stitch Fix is the place for deals, so if that is what you are looking for, you may be disappointed. The average price of items in a Stitch Fix box is $55-65. If you keep one item, the $20 styling fee is deducted from the price. If you keep all 5 items, you receive 25% off your entire order. And, if you don’t keep any of the items, you simply return them by dropping them in the mail, but you will lose your $20.

Courtesy: The Stitch Fix Blog
Courtesy: The Stitch Fix Blog

The concept really intrigues me and I’m curious to know if someone can actually pick out things that fit and that I will love based on an on-line profile and so called “algorithm”.  This whole idea of “fashion technology” and customization is fascinating to me – is it the way of the future? Does it beat endlessly searching on your own for the right size and color? Or,  trying to track down the elusive sales clerk to unlock the fitting room door?  Well, I am ready to find out.

Reviews of Stitch Fix are mixed.  Many women enjoy the personalized service and the ability to try things on in the comfort of their own home. After using it for a while, they seem to develop a real rapport with their stylist. Other users complain the on-line stylists don’t listen to the feedback they provide and they can find the same stuff elsewhere for less money.

So, I have signed up and am currently awaiting my Fix. I will let you know when the box arrives at my door. Gotta say, I’m kind of excited!

In the meantime, let me know what you think about the idea of a subscription wardrobe service. Have you used Stitch Fix or another online styling tool? Do you think it’s a waste of money or a brilliant idea?

2 thoughts on “Ok Moms, I’m ready for a fashion “fix”

Leave a Reply

